Fourth Week of Lent | Nicole Brandt

Psalm 89:1-18
Jeremiah 16:10-21
Romans 7:1-12
John 6:1-15

Wealth means that I can go into a restaurant and buy everyone a meal. Supernatural wealth means that I can take one meal and feed everyone in the restaurant. As sons and daughters of God, we have a supernatural inheritance.

Phillip told Jesus that it would take “more than half a year’s wages to buy enough bread for each one to have a bite!” (v7) He was looking toward natural provision. He was dependent on money to save people.

However, Jesus was confident in God’s goodness to provide supernaturally. Jesus knew that his inheritance was the resources of heaven, as is ours. John 6:11 says, “Jesus then took the loaves, gave thanks, and distributed to those who were seated as much as they wanted … .” Jesus gave out of a place of faith, not riches. He gave out of a place of gratitude, not entitlement.

So often we look at our earthly circumstances and have no idea how the Lord could possibly come through for us. We see where we lack, instead of God’s abundance. As we give up things that are important to us, we lay them down as a way of telling God that God is more important than our things. How often do we give until it hurts? I notice in my own life that I often give out of convenience, not need. I give my time if I have enough leftover. I give my money if I have enough leftover. I give my heart if I have enough leftover.

And when we partner with God to provide supernaturally, we’ll usually find ourselves where the disciples ended up after feeding everyone—abundance, overflow and bounty.

The greatest part of living in a place of abundance is that God becomes glorified. John 6:14 says, “After the people saw the sign Jesus performed, they began to say, ‘Surely this is the Prophet who is to come into the world.’”

We are asked to give things up during Lent, so that we can see God provide supernaturally in our life. We often get caught up in believing that our money and things can provide for us, but the truth is, only God can. So as we’re in a period of fasting, let’s position ourselves as sons and daughters. We’re not living towards provision, we’re living from it.

NICOLE BRANDT
Junior, Religion & the Arts

Tags:

Leave a Reply

