Second Week of Lent | Jamie Adam

Psalms 56, 57, 58
Jeremiah 1:11-19
Romans 1:1-15
John 4:27-42

Recently, I was circling the parking garage on campus looking for a parking space. It was an especially busy time of the day and I knew finding a space on any of the levels would be very difficult. After making several laps and even waiting outside the elevator doors with the hope that a student might emerge at any time, I finally thought to pray. My prayer was, “Lord, will you please provide me with a space, but if someone else needs it more than me, that is okay, too.”

Within a few short minutes, the elevator doors opened and two students walked out and began walking to their cars. I was reminded that God cares about my needs as much as He does in those around me (including the one arriving after me in the parking garage). I was also reminded that He is not limited by the options that are visible to me in order to meet those needs.

In John Chapter 4, after Jesus had ministered to the Samaritan woman at the well, the disciples were concerned that Jesus was hungry and needed something to eat. In verse 34, we read his response to the disciples, “’My food,’ said Jesus, ‘is to do the will of him who sent me and to finish his work.’”

This passage suggests that Jesus found doing the Lord’s will nourishing and even life-sustaining. As believers, we are also called to do the will of the Father. We are instructed to have compassion, to give to others and serve one another, in the way Christ demonstrated so long ago. When we practice this calling often, it is very easy to feel depleted and far from nourished. It is no wonder why we hesitate bringing every need to the Lord, especially simple needs.

During this Lenten season, let us be reminded that we are not alone in our calling, but that our Lord, Jesus Christ, is with us and it is by His power and strength that we have compassion, give to others and serve one another. All we need is to cry out to Him and He will fulfill His purposes for you and for me.

JAMIE ADAM
Assistant Professor of Nursing

Tags:

Leave a Reply

