First Monday of Lent | Becca Kennedy

Psalms 41, 52
Deuteronomy 8:11-18
John 2:1-12
Hebrews 2:11-18

See the man who would not make God his refuge,
but trusted in the abundance of his riches
and sought refuge in his own destruction! (Psalm 52:7)

I repeatedly doubt whether God is sufficient for me. This doubt doesn’t usually express itself in thoughts or questions, but in my desires and my attitudes. When I feel alone I seek people to fill my ache. When I am failing I seek my own strength to fix my situation. When I am succeeding I beam at my own performance. I am so like this man in Psalm 52. I think a lot of us are.

Our trust is not always in riches, but often in our friends, our abilities and our personalities. We place trust in the things we find around us, and ultimately at some point, they fail to meet our expectations. I think I saw it on Pinterest somewhere that expectation is the root of all heartache, and I think this statement is true. Humans—our friends, our parents, ourselves—whatever we expect of them, at some point they will let us down.

But we have access to a God who is able to do far more abundantly than anything we could ask or think! We cannot even imagine the mind-blowing things He can do! Look at the Deuteronomy passage. The Israelites had at this time been brought by God again to a place of safety, had set up their lives there, and were in danger again of trusting in their own power and riches to fulfill them. But they served the same God that we do today. The same God who brought them out of slavery and led and fed them in the wilderness. The same God who can change the chemical makeup of a liquid without really doing anything.

Meditate on this God today. Consider his might and his beauty and his bigness. List as God did for the Israelites in Deuteronomy the works that He has accomplished in your life, big and small. You can start with Him coming as a child and enduring life as you, as a human who felt and knew what it was to be lonely, to fail, to weep. Start there, but bring it into your today. In our thankfulness for socks and life and Christmas lights and health and lasagna and knock-knock jokes, we can come to know the care with which the Lord has crafted each of our lives. And we can be sure that He is sufficient.

BECCA KENNEDY
Junior, Missiology

Tags:

Leave a Reply

