First Sunday of Lent | Vince Diller

Psalms 91:1-2, 9-16
Deuteronomy 26:1-11
Romans 10:8b-13
Luke 4:1-13

What is it to truly dwell in the house of the Lord?

I have always found “dwelling in the house of the Lord” an interesting portrait to try and paint in my mind. Even with a vivid imagination claiming, “He is my refuge and fortress, my God, in whom I trust,” (v2) it seems impractical, if not impossible, to believe in this physical world in which we interact daily. Despite this scripture’s claim of protection from bruised feet and earth shaking disasters, in honesty, at my core I doubt if God needs to send an angelical intervention to protect me from “striking my foot against a stone” (v12), even though His love offers even this. Why is my faith so limited given the evidence I have seen through life as well as His word? Do I truly dwell in the same place as the psalmist? Or is my trust simply lacking a depth of peace, which is offered me, from fully resting in God’s dominion in both the large and small things of life?

When I was a child I felt safe because my parents were super heroes with super powers. However, as I aged I learned that it was the power of God that I was experiencing through my parents, not their power. As my parents read me Bible stories and sang songs from the Psalms with me in church, I slowly grew in my understanding of my parents’ role in caring for me as a member of God’s house, under His shadow of protection. At a young age my eyes were opened to the reality that a human promise, despite the sincerity, was only as good as the flesh of the person offering it. However, a promise from thee, God, is real and infallible. 

The promise of this heavenly fortress became the cornerstone of my faith, which I attempt to re-realize in greater ways with each passing season. In recent times this cornerstone and the walls built upon this faith, have been re-tested and confirmed in a new and exciting way—I became a father. I am humbled almost daily when I recognize that these children see my superpowers, and my role is to ensure they too can see the source of those powers like my parents did for me. Some lessons truly are eternal, so for my wife, my new boys, and myself I say, “He is my refuge and fortress, my God, in whom I trust!” As for the rest of my story, I will seek to rest in the Lord in the large and the small vigorously! 

In His and your service!

VINCE DILLER
Assistant Dean, Student Affairs

Tags:

Leave a Reply

