FF40 – Day 32 on Community | From Daniel Warner

DAY 32 – COMMUNITY

Proverbs 13:20 | 1 Corinthians 1:10 | Ephesians 5:2, 19, 30

Community is something that Christians talk about a lot. We have
community outreach events, community groups, and a whole lot of
discussion about what our community would look like if we lived like the
church in the book of Acts. A thriving community is typically something
that takes a lot of work, something that requires a lot of examination, but
in college, I think you’ll find that community is something that happens
organically and begins to form without much effort.

Freshman year at Belmont for me was a year of subtle healing through the
care of the community around me. It was a year of validation of my own
identity simply by being around other people who had similar goals and
aspirations as me. Coming out of high school I had been around a lot of
kids who seemingly didn’t really want too much out of life, and thus I felt
that I was constantly swimming upstream. My friends were predominantly
at the negative end of the spectrum, and this allowed me to fool myself
into thinking that I was actually doing something good if I simply remained
neutral and didn’t join them in their less-than-moral actions.

The biggest change I noticed at Belmont was that my friends allowed me to
become more of who I knew I wanted to be all along; they challenged me
to become better. I no longer felt the struggle to simply remove myself from
people doing things I didn’t want to do. Instead, I found myself surrounded
by people  doing things I didn’t want to do, I found myself surrounded by
people who challenged me out of the neutral area I so often found myself in,
and into a world of positive change.

Psalm 31:3 says, “For you are my rock and my fortress; and for your name’s
sake you lead me and guide me.” The Lord has graciously led you to a
season of life in which you can make friends who desire to see the same
changes in the world, who allow you to more deeply discern your vocation in
the context of a community full of other dreamers and full of people desiring
the kingdom of God to be on earth as it is in heaven.

He has done all of this for his glory, for his name’s sake, but also for
your good. Don’t take this opportunity for granted. Allow yourself to
be vulnerable, to grow in your walk with the Lord, to be challenged, to
challenge others, to find out what God has made you to do, and to do all
this alongside a beautiful community of passionate friends. Let the vibrant
Christian community you will find at Belmont bless you and deeply challenge
you over the next four years.

Daniel Warner
Senior, Religion and the Arts

Tags:

Leave a Reply

