FF40 – Day 28 on Transition | From Eli Wynn

DAY 28 – TRANSITION

Amos 9:6 | Matthew 7:13-14 | Ephesians 2:10

Moving to Belmont may not have been an easy choice or transition for you.
I suppose for some, coming to college was easier than it was for me. I have to
say, I was a bit jealous of those of my peers who seemed to be right at home
on day 1. For me, transition was something I hadn’t spent much time thinking
about before I got here. Since that time, I’ve been able to think about what it
means to transition and just how valuable the experience can be.

Think on this OT Scenario: the leader of God’s chosen people, Moses, has
just died. Moses led the people out of captivity in Egypt as they journeyed
to the land God had promised them. I wonder if some of them were asking,
“What do we do now?” or maybe they questioned if God had abandoned
them altogether. But God spoke to his people and gave Joshua a message,
a commandment of hope. God commands Joshua to be strong and
courageous (Joshua 1:6). In a climate where, perhaps, Joshua received little
assurance or direction, God set before Joshua a plan of action.

This plan began with a promise, “Wherever you set foot, you will be on
land I have given you”(v. 3). Because Joshua trusted God, the Lord honored
Joshua, saying “I will be with you as I was with Moses. I will not fail you or
abandon you”(v. 5).

God’s plan also included substance. He told Joshua what to think about and
what to hope for, what to fill his mind with. God said to Joshua, “Study this
Book of Instruction continually. Meditate on it day and night so you will be
sure to obey everything written in it. Only then will you prosper and succeed
in all you do”(v. 8). God lovingly desired for Joshua to be filled with the truth,
that is the Word of God, for Joshua’s success and prosperity. The love God
has for his people draws them into Himself and transforms their lives!

The transition that took place in the lives of God’s people was full of trials
and unknowns. May you receive the hope and promise that God offers to
those who trust in Him as you transition to a life away from home. God is
worthy of being trusted!

This is my commandment—be strong and courageous! Do not be
afraid or discouraged. For the Lord your God is with you wherever
you go.  (Joshua 1:9)

Eli Wynn
Senior, Commercial Music Major

Tags:

Leave a Reply

