FF40 – Day 27 on Community | From Elle Sanders

DAY 27 – COMMUNITY

Proverbs 17:17 | Matthew 18:15 | 1 John 1:3, 7

Been talking bout the way things change and my family lives in a different state. If you don’t know what to make of this, then we will not relate. – Rivers and Roads by the Head and the Heart

Welcome to freshman year; based on my own experience, I can promise
you that it will be life changing. I watched mentors working alongside their
protégés. I found complete strangers living harmoniously in close quarters. I
got an up-close look at the line separating the professional and the amateur
and realized it wasn’t solid. I screwed things up and experienced both harsh
consequences and undeserved grace. I witnessed my rivals morph into my
accountability partners. I experienced judgment from both ends and felt the
power of forgiveness.

I wish with all my heart to be able to pass down to you some sort of
guaranteed “Freshman Survival Guide.” Unfortunately, no such guide exists.
You are in the midst of being fully immersed into the most mind-blowingly
beautiful community that you have ever been a part of, and ultimately, you
can make whatever you want of it.

I challenge you to intentionally seek fellowship with the members of this
community, because, whether you believe it or not, you all share the ‘traveler’s bond.’ Whether you moved across the country or just down the street, you have all chosen to leave something behind and brave new territory.

So rather than fearing your suitemates and classmates, embrace them in
fellow traveler’s bond and show them the love that you all need in order to
get through the year (1 John 4:18). We were made to be in fellowship with
each other (1 John 1:7), so take advantage of ready-made community that
is the college campus. The next time you find yourself sitting alone in your
dorm room wondering what the heck you’ve gotten yourself into; know
that there is someone just down the hall having almost identical thoughts.
Go find them.

Elle Sanders
Sophomore, Honors College, Worship Music

Leave a Reply

