FF40 – Day 26 on Faith | From Kylie Percival

DAY 26 – FAITH

Psalm 34:4 | Jeremiah 32:17 | 2 Thessalonians 3:3

College: a loaded word in our American culture today. From preconceived
ideas shaped by MTV to agendas aspiring to become the next Rory Gilmore,
we college students certainly have society’s eyes on us. It seems as though
one half of those in our lives expect uncanny results from our college
careers: a 4.0 GPA, involvement in numerous clubs, internships with the
best, finding a potential spouse, and ultimately a career worth the tuition
our bank accounts close-handedly funded. The other half awaits imminent
failure. They expect us to put “the best 4 years of our lives” to waste. They
just know we’ll stay up too late, sleep too late, get to class late, turn in our
assignments late, and that we simply won’t take our time in college seriously.

Considering all these expectations, those that anticipate achievement and
those that assume adversity, one thing becomes clear: We can’t do it.

We can’t do it.

This may be the last thing you expected to hear within your first few weeks at
Belmont. At a school where our mission statement rings out, “From here to
anywhere!” it seems counterintuitive to have someone tell you “you can’t.”

Within my first year at Belmont I sincerely had the commercial feeling
that I could do anything. I was at a prestigious school with incredibly
talented peers and professors who were pouring into me. I was doing well
academically. I was involved in campus ministries, and all around, I felt like
I was pretty good at being a Bruin. However, by the time finals week of
spring semester hit, I had the nudging realization that I simply could not do
it all. Anxiety became a normal feeling for me, and looking back I wish I had
someone to remind me of this: I didn’t have to do it by myself.

2 Thessalonians states “the Lord is faithful, and He will strengthen you
and protect you from the evil one.” Our God is faithful. If we have faith in
a faithful God, if we lean into Him and submit ourselves to Him, He will
strengthen us. He will help us do any and all things that honor His name.

In John 15, Jesus himself states “…apart from me, you can do nothing.”
Within your time in college, you may feel as though you can’t do it all.
Perhaps this feeling is placed within us so that we may have faith in our
creator. Based on this faith I counteract my previous statement that “you
can’t” with a resounding “you can.” Through faith, you can.

Kylie Percival
Junior, Music Business

Tags:

Leave a Reply

