FF40 – Day 20 on Transition | From Sami Hodge

DAY 20 – TRANSITION

Exodus 12:40-42 | 1 Samuel 2:2 | Psalm 31:3

2,350. That is how many miles away my home was from Belmont University. I left Portland, Oregon knowing no one at Belmont and without a declared major, but I was positive that I would have no problem making friends because it had come so naturally back home. Then it hit me about 2 weeks into school… I had no idea how to make friends. All of my friends came from things that I had been involved in—Theatre, Student Government—but now I had no extracurricular identity. I didn’t even have a major to help get me started.

To be completely honest with you, my first month was difficult. I had no idea
why I was taking Gen Ed courses at Belmont when I could have been taking
them back home, with the safety and comfort of my family and friends. It
wasn’t until I started getting involved on campus that I realized that God had
brought me to my new home – that would eventually yield many new and
meaningful friendships.

Whether your home is 10 miles away or 2,000 miles away, the transition from
high school to college can be a difficult time. You are not the only one who
is struggling with this transition.

My greatest piece of advice would be to get involved as soon as you
can. Find something that you are passionate about and pursue it boldly.
Dive head first into it and start building and developing relationships with
those around you. If the transition is harder than you first expected it to
be, remember that God is always with you. Joshua 1:9 says, “Have I not
commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid; do not be
discouraged, for the LORD your God will be with you wherever you go.”

It is my hope that as you continue to transition from high school to college
that you will find peace in this verse and knowing that God is with you every
step of the way.

Sami Hodge
Senior, Entertainment Industry Studies Major

Tags:

Leave a Reply

