FF40 – Day 11 on Faith | From Becca Kennedy

Day 11 – FAITH

Psalm 9:9-10 | Proverbs 3:5-6 | 2 Corinthians 12:9

The Lord is a stronghold for the oppressed, a stronghold in times of trouble. And those who know your name put their trust in you, for you, O Lord, have not forsaken those who seek you. (Psalm 9:9-10)

So, I’m going to begin this with a confession: there are a lot of times in my
walk with God that I simply have no desire to spend time with Him. So many
times I can’t feel His presence or understand His plan, so I find it hard to sit
and pray or read His Word. During these times I begin to doubt that He will
ever show Himself. I have a hard time trusting in His plan and timing.

But someone told me once that, in those times, prayer itself is an act of faith.
Even when I feel like I am doubting or I can’t feel what God is doing in me,
choosing to devote time to Him shows that I still have faith in Him and His plan. It is a small act of dependence. It is a tiny step toward a more trusting walk.

And I know that in the chaos and the change of being a college freshman,
there is a lot of doubt. There is discomfort and anxiety and fear, which are
all things that tend to lead to a lapse in faith. In those times, the times that
are sure to come as you encounter some of the biggest changes in your life,
spend time in prayer and in Scripture. Think of Psalm 9:10, “For you, O Lord,
have not forsaken those who seek you.”

So ask, and it will be given to you. Seek, and you shall find. Knock and it shall be opened to you. (Matt 7:7)

But when you ask, ask for Him.

And when you seek, seek Him.

For He Himself is what He has promised us. And communion with Him is
better than any comfort or calm or any gift we could ask for or seek.

You will seek me and find me, when you seek me with all your heart. (Jeremiah 29:13)

Take some time now to seek the Lord. Even if your faith is small, even if it is
only enough for a short prayer, seek. Seek Him, and find Him. For there is
nothing better that you could find.

Becca Kennedy
Junior, Missions

Tags:

Leave a Reply

