FF40 – Day 8 on Service | From Ann Touchstone

DAY 8 – Service

Proverbs 31:8-9 | Luke 6:38 | Acts 20:35

…but when His Spirit is having His way with us, we live according to His standards without even realizing it. – Oswald Chambers, My Utmost for His Highest

What are ways of service? Doing things for others is how I have always
viewed service. But with a busy schedule, that almost makes breathing a
difficulty throughout the day, what (or when) am I supposed to do for others?
Serving others shouldn’t be a burden, but an opportunity to “give myself
away.” Right!?

Now it wasn’t as if I woke up one day and thought, “I’m going to completely
give up my schedule, my plans, and my dreams to make sure that I am giving
my life to service.” There was a definite process that is still going on in me.
This process summed up was that “He must become greater; I must become
less” (John 3:30). This is not something any of us can accomplish on our own.
Through Christ, I’m strengthened to draw upon abilities that go beyond me
and overflow to others (Philippians 4:13). All my needs are fulfilled and I can
begin to think of others’ needs at the same time. Through Him, my heart
reorders itself to focus on what He views important.

My heart, through my own strength, is very focused on myself. I want what
Jesus can do for me instead of what Jesus will do through me. My heart
through Jesus’ strength, however, is “a good measure, pressed down,
shaken together and running over” (Luke 6:38). I am given enough strength
that I begin to change my outlook on how my life is supposed to go. My
dreams become Jesus’ dreams and my desires are changed to fit in His will
(Psalm 37:4). I become that “cheerful giver” that at first seems like a lofty
goal, but with Jesus it becomes His life daily living in me (2 Corinthians 9:7).

Sacrificing myself (my time, my priorities, my agenda) was the best thing I’ve
done since I came to college. This is a time where it is very easy to just focus
on me, what is best for me, rather than think of others. It is so freeing when
you stop thinking of yourself, focus on Jesus, and see the revolution of love
He creates.

Ann Touchstone
Junior, Music Business and Entrepreneurship

Tags:

Leave a Reply

