Lent | 3.9.12

Psalm 19
Exodus 19:9b-15
Acts 7:30-40

I always seem to have trouble with the metal detector at the airport. I forget to take off my belt, or I think that my watch can pass through without setting it off. More often than not, I am politely asked to step aside for a rather impolite pat down. It always frustrates me, especially when my schedule is tight. However, when I cool down and think about it, the security system in place is there for a reason. It helps ensure that the flight will be free of any internal resistance or attack.

It would seem to me that Moses acts as a sort of “metal detector” to the people of Israel.

God gave Moses instructions to prepare the people internally for His revealing at Sinai. We are encouraged to do the same internal preparation during Lent. Through prayer, repentance, and giving our time and resources to those in need, we leave the luggage of our lives for this special time.

Though your schedule may be tight, take time to examine yourself and prepare your heart. Be intentional in this season by setting aside special time to focus on God through prayer and Scripture. Like a plane takes us to a new destination, pray that God will take you to a new destination in your spiritual life in this time.

Psalms 19:14 says, “May the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be pleasing to you, O Lord, my rock and my redeemer.” May this be the prayer of our heart during this very special and holy time of the year.

Zach Hixson
Freshmen, Biblical Studies Major

You can download the full Lent and Holy Week Devotional Guide at:http://www.belmont.edu/religion/files/lent-devotional-2012-final.pdf

Tags:

Leave a Reply

