’21 Days to Change’ | Day 16

Happy Day 16!

We’re one day closer to realizing the change we desire!!

That being the case, I thought we might look to the horizon… and consider “what’s next.”

A week from today we will enter into the season of Lent.

Lent is the 40+ day season that starts with Ash Wednesday, takes us through Holy Week, Christ death, burial and culminates in the celebration of the risen Christ on Easter!

Whether you are familiar with this season of the Christian calendar or not, I thought I’d mention it for a couple of reasons…

  1. We’ve been working on a Lenten devotional guide that we’ll be shared around campus in print form, but will also be posted right here each day throughout the Lenten season.
  2. The other reason I mention it is because Lent is a season when we have the chance to draw near to Christ in preparation for Holy Week. This often includes intentional times of prayer, repentance, almsgiving and self-denial. And in choosing to participate in this important time we often open ourselves up to Christ in some  new and intentional ways that allow him to work within us.
SO, given that we’ve had taste of change already… I thought it might be worth thinking about taking some “next steps” towards becoming the men and women of Christ that God desires for us to be.
As we strive towards the finish line of this ’21 Days to Change’ challenge… maybe we should consider how an intentional engagement in the Lenten season might be just what we need for more/future change!

Here’s our scripture for the day:

From the Old Testament: Genesis 32:12-34:31

32: 13 He spent the night there, and from what he had with him he selected a gift for his brother Esau: 14 two hundred female goats and twenty male goats, two hundred ewes and twenty rams, 15 thirty female camels with their young, forty cows and ten bulls, and twenty female donkeys and ten male donkeys. 16 He put them in the care of his servants, each herd by itself, and said to his servants, “Go ahead of me, and keep some space between the herds.”

17 He instructed the one in the lead: “When my brother Esau meets you and asks, ‘Who do you belong to, and where are you going, and who owns all these animals in front of you?’ 18 then you are to say, ‘They belong to your servant Jacob. They are a gift sent to my lord Esau, and he is coming behind us.’” Keep reading…

From the New Testament: Matthew 11:7-30

11:  7 As John’s disciples were leaving, Jesus began to speak to the crowd about John: “What did you go out into the wilderness to see? A reed swayed by the wind? 8 If not, what did you go out to see? A man dressed in fine clothes? No, those who wear fine clothes are in kings’ palaces. 9 Then what did you go out to see? A prophet? Yes, I tell you, and more than a prophet. 10 This is the one about whom it is written:

“‘I will send my messenger ahead of you,
who will prepare your way before you.’  Keep reading…

From the Psalms: Psalm 16

1 Keep me safe, my God,
for in you I take refuge.

2 I say to the LORD, “You are my Lord;
apart from you I have no good thing.”
3 I say of the holy people who are in the land,
“They are the noble ones in whom is all my delight.”
4 Those who run after other gods will suffer more and more.
I will not pour out libations of blood to such gods
or take up their names on my lips.

5 LORD, you alone are my portion and my cup;
you make my lot secure.  Keep reading…

From the Proverbs: Proverbs 3:19-20

19 By wisdom the LORD laid the earth’s foundations,
by understanding he set the heavens in place;
20 by his knowledge the watery depths were divided,
and the clouds let drop the dew.

And a prayer to close:

Our Father, which art in heaven,
Hallowed be thy Name.
Thy Kingdom come.
Thy will be done in earth,
As it is in heaven.
Give us this day our daily bread.
And forgive us our trespasses,
As we forgive them that trespass against us.
And lead us not into temptation,
But deliver us from evil.
For thine is the kingdom,

The power, and the glory,

For ever and ever.

Amen.


Leave a Reply

