’21 Days to Change ‘ | Day 7

Well, we’ve officially reached the end of week 1 of our ’21 Days to Change’ challenge.

How are you doing?

Are you still tracking with us?

My wife shared this quote with me yesterday, and I think it might be both appropriate and encouraging for us as we begin to battle for change in our lives.

The quote said:

All great changes are preceded by chaos

Great change preceded by chaos.

Chaos >>> Change.

Does that fit with where you find yourself today?

If so, be encouraged… your present chaos will eventually lead to the change you so desire!

Here’s our scripture for the day:

From the Old Testament: Genesis 16:1-18:19

16:1 Now Sarai, Abram’s wife, had borne him no children. But she had an Egyptian maidservant named Hagar; 2 so she said to Abram, “The LORD has kept me from having children. Go, sleep with my maidservant; perhaps I can build a family through her.” Abram agreed to what Sarai said.3 So after Abram had been living in Canaan ten years, Sarai his wife took her Egyptian maidservant Hagar and gave her to her husband to be his wife. 4 He slept with Hagar, and she conceived. When she knew she was pregnant, she began to despise her mistress. 5 Then Sarai said to Abram, “You are responsible for the wrong I am suffering. I put my servant in your arms, and now that she knows she is pregnant, she despises me. May the LORD judge between you and me.” Keep reading…

From the New Testament: Matthew 6:1-24

1 “Be careful not to do your ‘acts of righteousness’ before men, to be seen by them. If you do, you will have no reward from your Father in heaven. 2 So when you give to the needy, do not announce it with trumpets, as the hypocrites do in the synagogues and on the streets, to be honored by men. I tell you the truth, they have received their reward in full. 3 But when you give to the needy, do not let your left hand know what your right hand is doing, 4 so that your giving may be in secret. Then your Father, who sees what is done in secret, will reward you.” Keep reading…

From the Psalms: Psalm 7

1 O LORD my God, I take refuge in you; save and deliver me from all who pursue me, 2 or they will tear me like a lion and rip me to pieces with no one to rescue me. 3 O LORD my God, if I have done this and there is guilt on my hands — 4 if I have done evil to him who is at peace with me or without cause have robbed my foe– 5 then let my enemy pursue and overtake me; let him trample my life to the ground and make me sleep in the dust. “Selah” Keep reading…

From the Proverbs: Proverbs 2:1-5

1 My son, if you accept my words and store up my commands within you, 2 turning your ear to wisdom and applying your heart to understanding, 3 and if you call out for insight and cry aloud for understanding, 4 and if you look for it as for silver and search for it as for hidden treasure, 5then you will understand the fear of the LORD and find the knowledge of God.

And a prayer to close:

Our Father, which art in heaven,
Hallowed be thy Name.
Thy Kingdom come.
Thy will be done in earth,
As it is in heaven.
Give us this day our daily bread.
And forgive us our trespasses,
As we forgive them that trespass against us.
And lead us not into temptation,
But deliver us from evil.
For thine is the kingdom,

The power, and the glory,

For ever and ever.

Amen.

How can understanding chaos as a normal part of the process, change the way you experience change?

Leave a Reply

