Freshman First 40 — Day 33

DAY 33
WEDNESDAY, SEPTEMBER 21, 2011

Jer 29: 11-13

“For I know the plans I have for you ”declares the Lord,“ plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. Then you will call upon me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.”

You are embarking on a journey of discovery as you enter your freshman year of college. Your goal is to get the degree that leads to a job, a position and place in this world. But, I believe the real prize for you will be in the process! Who you are today is not who you will be on graduation day. Yes, God has a plan for your life, plans to prosper you, keep you safe, to give you hope and a future. But, you have the responsibility of discovering this plan by seeking Him. He says in His word, “you will find me when you seek me with all your heart.”

This act of seeking God will not be easy once you dive off the platform into real college life. Time will get away from you, demands on your life will begin to consume you, and you will find yourself in the center of a whirlwind.

I discovered a new book recently called “iFaith” by Daniel Darling. He says, “We are a generation raised on instant: Instant Formula, Disposable Diapers, Satellite TV, GPS Navigation, and on and on. We’re always plugged in and wired up – having answers at the snap of fingers. We’re use to being in control.”

He goes on to ask these questions: “How does this affect our communication with God? Has faith been replaced with a false sense of security? Has the digital and technological revolution made us more impatient with God who delights in making his people wait? Maybe God is calling us back to a place of rest and silence and peace with God!”

These are probing questions and statements for a generation of youth who need the foundation of faith for their lives more than ever before. So much of seeking God’s will and way for our lives requires patient waiting. I encourage you to deliberately “unplug” and “unwire” and seek God daily as you begin life in your new community; keeping your faith central to your college experience.

I pray you will find a place of rest and silence and peace with God at Belmont University.

BETTY WISEMAN
Athletics Department

Tags:

Leave a Reply

