Freshman First 40 — Day 30

DAY 30
SUNDAY, SEPTEMBER 18, 2011

Jer 29:11

“’For I know the plans I have for you,’ declares the Lord, ‘plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you a hope and a future.’”

Memorizing this verse was one of the best things I ever did. Why? There have been many times in my life when I have questioned where God was taking me. Every time I doubted, God brought this verse to my mind.

Jeremiah was an Old Testament prophet in the days of the Babylonian Exile. The people of Israel had been carried into slavery and were naturally questioning God’s will for their lives. God’s answer wasn’t exactly what they wanted to hear: God was saying, “Trust me.”

Trusting is not an easy thing to do, especially when it has to do with our life plans. When I came to college, I wanted to be a “Country Music Singer.” It didn’t take long for me to realize that those plans were anything but realistic, and that I am a homebody. I cried nearly every night. I decided that I was going to transfer to a school closer to home and change my major. Graciously, God grabbed me and gave me a view of his plans for me. God had opened many doors for me to attend Belmont. I was at Belmont for a reason.

Honestly, I still don’t know exactly why God wanted me here. But to this day He continues to open doors for me. I have learned so much (in and out of the classroom) and have met so many great people. God has taught me about myself, His people, and Himself. And yes, that first semester of college was some of the most difficult months of my life. But what doesn’t kill you makes you stronger. God gave me a “big picture-view” of my life to show me that He has a plan for me. And no, it is not always easy to follow a plan you can’t see. But I can tell you this for sure: God’s plan for your life is better than anything you could ever dream for yourself. Talk to Him, read about Him in His Word, spend time with and get to know people who love and want to serve Him. But most of all: trust Him.

AMANDA COMBS
Commercial Voice Performance, Class of 2012

Tags:

Leave a Reply

