Freshman First 40 — Day 4

DAY 4
TUESDAY, AUGUST 23, 2011

Heb 11:6

Situations that require faith are always the ones that change us the most.
They’re the highlighted sentences in the books of our lives. They’re the
days we remember in colors and emotions instead of facts and minutes and
hours. They’re the times when God asks us to remember our smallness and
dependence on Him.

When I think about the summer of 2010, I think in those terms; I think about
situations that challenged me and changed who I was on the deepest level
possible. I remember standing in the airport that Friday morning in May,
butterflies in my stomach as I said goodbye to my family and got on a plane
headed for Moscow. I remember the intense reliance on God that moment
required- a reliance in which I was forced to remain for the rest of the
summer as I lived, laughed, worked, prayed, and cried with a small church
in the Caucus Mountains of southern Russia.

I remember plenty of other situations in my life when I have had to learn
faith in order to keep moving. Coming to college. Changing my major.

My parents divorcing. Finding the money to pay for housing. All of these
situations, these highlighted memories of desperation and need, have
shown me in real life terms what it means to be required to live by faith.

But what is faith?

“ The fundamental fact of existence is that this trust in God, this faith, is the
firm foundation under everything that makes life worth living. It’s our handle
on what we can’t see.” -Hebrews 11:1, The Message

Faith is the conviction that God has told us the truth about things.

“ It’s impossible to please God apart from faith. And why? Because anyone who
wants to approach God must believe both that He exists and that He cares
enough to respond to those who seek him.” -Hebrews 11:6, The Message

Faith is the conviction that God has not forsaken us.

So really, every situation in life requires faith, no matter where we are, who
we’re with, or what we’re doing. Living in Russia required taking every step
with the knowledge that God was telling me the truth when He said He had
a purpose for me. But so does simply waking up in the morning for class
and living with the confidence that God won’t leave me. This is the faith that
defined the heroes of the Bible, and it’s the faith that defines us today.

JORDAN YEAGER
Class of 2013, Christian Ethics

Tags:

Leave a Reply

